Cordless vs Corded Pool Vacuum — Which Should You Buy?
Cordless means no cable and a charge between runs. Corded means nothing to charge and a cable to manage. Here is what each of the cleaners we sell needs at your pool and how long each runs — every figure from its maker.
Short answer
For most DFW in-ground pools up to the robots’ published limits, we’d go cordless — both cordless robots we sell skim the surface, which the corded one does not. Our top pick is the Aiper Scuba X1 Pro Max: up to 5 h of floor cleaning or 10 h of skimming per charge, pools up to 3,230 sq ft.
Pick corded if you want nothing to charge, or your pool is bigger than the cordless makers list. Our corded pick is the Polaris ALPHA iQ+: cycles up to 3 h 30 min on a 70 ft cable.
Cordless vs Corded — head to head
What each kind gives you and costs you, from the makers’ own specs for the models we sell.
No cable. Charge between runs.
Gives you
Costs you
Our cordless picks
8,500 GPH through the cleaner · Up to 5 h floor / 10 h surface per charge · Pools up to 3,230 sq ft. Warranty: 3 years from Aiper.
Up to 11 h surface per charge · Pools up to 3,875 sq ft · 9 motors. Warranty: 3 years from Beatbot.
Nothing to charge.
Gives you
Costs you
Our corded & pump-driven picks
Up to 3 h 30 min floor per cycle · SMART Cycle, Quick Clean, Deep Clean, Waterline Only and custom modes · 4-wheel drive, front brush. Warranty: 2 years from Polaris.
2,400 GPH through the cleaner · 3 venturi jets, 2½-inch vacuum inlet · All-wheel PosiDrive with stainless-steel chain. Warranty: 1 year from Polaris (frame: 5 years).
Cleaning mode: "Floor, Walls & Tile Line" · 39 ft friction-fit hose with a flow regulator valve · HALO technology against clogging from fine and stringy debris. Warranty: 1 year from Polaris.
The figures, side by side
Every figure is the manufacturer’s own published specification, linked under the table and checked Sep 24, 2026. Where a maker publishes nothing, the cell says so. Run times are the makers’ “up to” figures in the mode named. Our own measurements appear only where our team has tested, marked “Our test” — none are published yet.
| Spec | Aiper X1 Pro MaxAiper’s spec page | Beatbot P300 ProBeatbot’s spec page | Polaris ALPHA iQ+Polaris’s spec page | Polaris 3900 SportPolaris’s spec page | Polaris ATLASPolaris’s spec page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Cordless robotic | Cordless robotic | Corded robotic | Pressure-side | Suction-side |
| Cleans the floorAs the maker lists it | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Climbs the wallsAs the maker lists it | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Scrubs the waterlineAs the maker lists it | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Yes |
| Skims the surfaceAs the maker lists it | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Water through the cleanerGallons per hour (GPH) | 8,500 GPHAiper calls it "suction power / flow rate". | Not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro. | Not published by Polaris for the ALPHA iQ+. | 2,400 GPHWater it circulates through its bag, driven by the booster pump. Polaris gives 40 gallons a minute; × 60 = 2,400 GPH. | Set by your pool pump — Polaris publishes no flow figure. |
| Floor cleaning, longest runPer charge, or per cycle for a corded robot | Up to 5 hFloor cleaning. Aiper's mode chart gives 5 h in Eco mode and 3.5 h in Max mode. | Not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro. | Up to 3 h 30 minPer cycle — it is corded, so there is no battery. Quick Clean (floor only) runs 1 h 15 min; Deep Clean (floor, walls, waterline) 2 h 45 min; SMART Cycle sizes the run to your pool. | No battery or cycle timer of its own — it runs while the booster pump runs | No battery or timer of its own — it runs while your pool pump runs |
| Surface skimming, longest runPer charge — surface mode only | Up to 10 hSurface skimming only. | Up to 11 hSurface cleaning only. | Does not skim the surface — Polaris lists floor, wall and waterline modes only. | Does not skim the surface. | Does not skim the surface. |
| Pool sizeThe maker's published limit | Up to 3,230 sq ftUp to 100 ft (30 m) long. | Up to 3,875 sq ftBeatbot calls it the maximum pool size. | Polaris lists no size limit — the cable is 70 ft | Polaris lists no size limit — "complete pool coverage for all in-ground pools" | Polaris lists no size limit — the hose is 39 ft |
| Pool type | In-ground | Not stated on Beatbot's P300 Pro page. | In-ground | In-ground | In-ground |
| Filter | 180 µm standard filter; 3 µm MicroMesh ultra-fine filter | Filter fineness not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro. | 5 L illuminated canister — fineness not published | Dual-chamber SuperBag — fineness not published | No bag or canister listed — it connects to your skimmer or a 1.5-inch vacuum line |
| What it runs on | Battery — wireless charging dock, 4 h charge | Battery — wireless charging dock | Corded — a control box on household power (100–125 VAC, 150 W maximum load) and a 70 ft cable with a tangle-reducing swivel | Needs a booster pump — Polaris pairs it with the PB4SQ | Your pool pump — Polaris says it works with low- and variable-speed pumps, no extra energy source |
| App | Yes — Aiper app | Not stated on Beatbot's P300 Pro page. | Yes — iAquaLink app | No app — it is driven by the booster pump. | No app — it is driven by your pool pump. |
| WarrantyThe maker's, from its warranty terms | 3 years from Aiper | 3 years from Beatbot | 2 years from Polaris | 1 year from Polaris (frame: 5 years) | 1 year from Polaris |
| How we sell itOur process, not a spec | Add to cart | Add to cart | Purchase-help form | Purchase-help form | Purchase-help form |
Aiper Scuba X1 Pro Max
Maker’s specs- Type
- Cordless robotic
- Cleans the floor
- Yes
- Climbs the walls
- Yes
- Scrubs the waterline
- Yes
- Skims the surface
- Yes
- Water through the cleaner
- 8,500 GPHAiper calls it "suction power / flow rate".
- Floor cleaning, longest run
- Up to 5 hFloor cleaning. Aiper's mode chart gives 5 h in Eco mode and 3.5 h in Max mode.
- Surface skimming, longest run
- Up to 10 hSurface skimming only.
- Pool size
- Up to 3,230 sq ftUp to 100 ft (30 m) long.
- Pool type
- In-ground
- Filter
- 180 µm standard filter; 3 µm MicroMesh ultra-fine filter
- What it runs on
- Battery — wireless charging dock, 4 h charge
- App
- Yes — Aiper app
- Warranty
- 3 years from Aiper
- How we sell it
- Add to cart
Beatbot P300 Pro
Maker’s specs- Type
- Cordless robotic
- Cleans the floor
- Yes
- Climbs the walls
- Yes
- Scrubs the waterline
- Yes
- Skims the surface
- Yes
- Water through the cleaner
- Not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro.
- Floor cleaning, longest run
- Not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro.
- Surface skimming, longest run
- Up to 11 hSurface cleaning only.
- Pool size
- Up to 3,875 sq ftBeatbot calls it the maximum pool size.
- Pool type
- Not stated on Beatbot's P300 Pro page.
- Filter
- Filter fineness not published by Beatbot for the P300 Pro.
- What it runs on
- Battery — wireless charging dock
- App
- Not stated on Beatbot's P300 Pro page.
- Warranty
- 3 years from Beatbot
- How we sell it
- Add to cart
Polaris ALPHA iQ+
Maker’s specs- Type
- Corded robotic
- Cleans the floor
- Yes
- Climbs the walls
- Yes
- Scrubs the waterline
- Yes
- Skims the surface
- Not listed
- Water through the cleaner
- Not published by Polaris for the ALPHA iQ+.
- Floor cleaning, longest run
- Up to 3 h 30 minPer cycle — it is corded, so there is no battery. Quick Clean (floor only) runs 1 h 15 min; Deep Clean (floor, walls, waterline) 2 h 45 min; SMART Cycle sizes the run to your pool.
- Surface skimming, longest run
- Does not skim the surface — Polaris lists floor, wall and waterline modes only.
- Pool size
- Polaris lists no size limit — the cable is 70 ft
- Pool type
- In-ground
- Filter
- 5 L illuminated canister — fineness not published
- What it runs on
- Corded — a control box on household power (100–125 VAC, 150 W maximum load) and a 70 ft cable with a tangle-reducing swivel
- App
- Yes — iAquaLink app
- Warranty
- 2 years from Polaris
- How we sell it
- Purchase-help form
Polaris Vac-Sweep 3900 Sport
Maker’s specs- Type
- Pressure-side
- Cleans the floor
- Yes
- Climbs the walls
- Yes
- Scrubs the waterline
- Not listed
- Skims the surface
- Not listed
- Water through the cleaner
- 2,400 GPHWater it circulates through its bag, driven by the booster pump. Polaris gives 40 gallons a minute; × 60 = 2,400 GPH.
- Floor cleaning, longest run
- No battery or cycle timer of its own — it runs while the booster pump runs
- Surface skimming, longest run
- Does not skim the surface.
- Pool size
- Polaris lists no size limit — "complete pool coverage for all in-ground pools"
- Pool type
- In-ground
- Filter
- Dual-chamber SuperBag — fineness not published
- What it runs on
- Needs a booster pump — Polaris pairs it with the PB4SQ
- App
- No app — it is driven by the booster pump.
- Warranty
- 1 year from Polaris (frame: 5 years)
- How we sell it
- Purchase-help form
Polaris ATLAS
Maker’s specs- Type
- Suction-side
- Cleans the floor
- Yes
- Climbs the walls
- Yes
- Scrubs the waterline
- Yes
- Skims the surface
- Not listed
- Water through the cleaner
- Set by your pool pump — Polaris publishes no flow figure.
- Floor cleaning, longest run
- No battery or timer of its own — it runs while your pool pump runs
- Surface skimming, longest run
- Does not skim the surface.
- Pool size
- Polaris lists no size limit — the hose is 39 ft
- Pool type
- In-ground
- Filter
- No bag or canister listed — it connects to your skimmer or a 1.5-inch vacuum line
- What it runs on
- Your pool pump — Polaris says it works with low- and variable-speed pumps, no extra energy source
- App
- No app — it is driven by your pool pump.
- Warranty
- 1 year from Polaris
- How we sell it
- Purchase-help form
Sources
- Aiper X1 Pro Max: Aiper — Scuba X1 Pro Max page and its spec table · Aiper — Refund and warranty policy (US), last updated April 16, 2026
- Beatbot P300 Pro: Beatbot — P300 Pro page and its comparison table · Beatbot — Limited Warranty Policy, warranty-period table
- Polaris ALPHA iQ+: Polaris — ALPHA iQ+ (FALPHAIQP) page and spec table · Polaris — PHENOM/ALPHA/VRX owner's manual (H0800400), linked from the ALPHA iQ+ page · Polaris Limited Warranty statement, USA & Canada (H0355004 Rev N), linked from polarispool.com
- Polaris 3900 Sport: Polaris — Vac-Sweep 3900 Sport (F6) page and spec table · Polaris Limited Warranty statement, USA & Canada (H0355004 Rev N), linked from polarispool.com
- Polaris ATLAS: Polaris — ATLAS (FSATLAS) page and spec table · Polaris Limited Warranty statement, USA & Canada (H0355004 Rev N), linked from polarispool.com
Which one for your pool?
How we’d steer a DFW homeowner among what we sell.
If your pool is…
In-ground pool up to 3,230 sq ft, moderate debris
If your pool is…
In-ground pool up to 3,875 sq ft, or you want a built-in clarifier
If your pool is…
Bigger than those limits, or nothing to charge
If your pool is…
Heavy oak or sweetgum debris, and a booster pump on the pad
If your pool is…
Spring pollen and floating leaves on the surface
If your pool is…
Use the pool pump you already run — no battery, no booster
If your pool is…
A spa or hot tub up to 9 × 9 ft — not a pool
Common questions
Cordless or corded pool vacuum — which is better in 2026?
It depends on your pool and your habits. Cordless (the Aiper Scuba X1 Pro Max and Beatbot P300 Pro we sell) means no cable, surface skimming and a charge between runs. Corded (the Polaris ALPHA iQ+) means nothing to charge and cycles sized to your pool, but no surface skimming. These are our recommendations among the cleaners we sell — Aiper, Beatbot and Polaris — not a test of the whole market.
What's the catch with cordless pool vacuums?
Charging, and run time by mode. Aiper lists up to 5 h of floor cleaning per charge (3.5 h in Max mode) and 4 h to recharge — its 10 h figure is surface skimming only. Beatbot lists 11 h of surface cleaning for the P300 Pro and publishes no floor figure. You also lift the robot out to charge it and empty the basket.
What's the catch with corded pool vacuums?
The cable and the control box. The ALPHA iQ+ has a 70 ft cable with a tangle-reducing swivel, and its manual says to keep the control box at least 5 ft from the water. A cycle runs up to 3 h 30 min, Polaris's manual says to take the cleaner out after each cycle, and it does not skim the surface.
Do cordless pool vacuums clean as well as corded?
No maker publishes a side-by-side figure that settles it. What the makers do publish: both cordless robots we sell list floor, walls, waterline and surface; the corded ALPHA iQ+ lists floor, walls and waterline. Aiper's ultra-fine filter is 3 µm; Polaris does not publish the ALPHA iQ+'s filter fineness, and Beatbot does not publish the P300 Pro's.
How long does a cordless pool vacuum run on a charge?
Per the makers: the Aiper Scuba X1 Pro Max runs up to 5 h cleaning the floor (3.5 h in Max mode) or up to 10 h skimming the surface, and recharges in 4 h. The Beatbot P300 Pro runs up to 11 h of continuous surface cleaning; Beatbot does not publish its floor-cleaning time. Neither maker publishes a battery-life figure in years on the pages we read.
Does a corded pool robot run all night?
No. The Polaris ALPHA iQ+ runs one cycle at a time: Quick Clean (floor only) is 1 h 15 min, Deep Clean (floor, walls and waterline) 2 h 45 min, and the longest you can set is 3 h 30 min. Pressure-side and suction-side cleaners are different: they run whenever their pump runs.
Cordless vs corded for a saltwater pool?
Aiper lists salinity testing at 50,000 ppm for the Scuba X1 Pro Max. Beatbot and Polaris do not state a salinity figure on the pages we read. Whatever you buy, keep the water balanced — Polaris's warranty, for one, excludes damage from chemical imbalance and names the ranges (pH 7.2 to 7.8; dissolved solids under 1,500 ppm, not counting salt).
Cordless vs corded for a big pool?
Go by the maker's limit: Aiper lists pools up to 3,230 sq ft (100 ft long) and Beatbot up to 3,875 sq ft. Beyond those, the corded Polaris ALPHA iQ+ (70 ft cable; Polaris lists no size limit) or a pressure-side 3900 Sport on a booster pump.
Still not sure?
Tell us your pool size, what falls in, and whether you have a booster pump — we’ll match you to the right cleaner among the ones we sell.